The Purge

The Purge is a 2013 American science fiction thriller film directed and written by James DeMonaco. Starring Ethan Hawke and Lena Headey, the film is set in the year 2022 when the United States has become “a nation reborn”, with crime and unemployment rates hitting an all-time low, due to the government having instituted an annual 12-hour period called “the Purge” during which all criminal activity (including murder, theft and rape) becomes legal. The only rules during the Purge are that government officials of “ranking 10 or higher” must remain unharmed and usage of weaponry above “Class 4″ (such as WMDs) is forbidden. The Purge is designed to act as a catharsis for the American people, so that they may vent all negative emotions however they desire.


  • Ethan Hawke as James Sandin
  • Lena Headey as Mary Sandin
  • Max Burkholder as Charlie Sandin
  • Adelaide Kane as Zoey Sandin
  • Rhys Wakefield as Polite Leader
  • Edwin Hodge as Bloody Stranger
  • Tony Oller as Henry
  • Arija Bareikis as Grace Ferrin
  • Tom Yi as Mr. Cali
  • Chris Mulkey as Mr. Halverson
  • Tisha French as Mrs. Halverson
  • Dana Bunch as Grace’s husband
  • Karen Strassman as journalist

Stills of Adelaide as Zoey Sandin

Leave a Reply